Walking backwards.

Sean does all his math in his head…always has…and always getting counted off for not showing work :/ frustrating….though I’m sure not as much as it is for him

ischemgeek

As easily as most people speak, I used to math.

I could math subconsciously. And quickly! So quickly. Faster than a calculator. My parents used to show me off to their friends.

And it felt right in a way that words can’t describe. Just the incredible rightness of getting the answer and knowing it’s right because it feels right and it completes the problem, like I imagine how creative people must feel when they find the last stroke of the brush a new painting needs. 

It was as easy to me as walking is to you.

And then, it stopped.

Because, you see, my way of math was wrong. “You can’t do that in your head!” adults started to tell me. “We need to see your work.”

Never mind that my work couldn’t be worded or written in a way that made sense to them. “It’s right because it’s purple”…

View original post 220 more words

Leave a Reply

